About Salutation

The Salutation Consortium is a non-profit corporation that promotes and distributes,royalty-free and via open source, the Salutation Architecture, a service discovery and session management protocol developed and sponsored by leadinginformation technology companies.   The Salutation Architecture is independent of operatingsystem, communications protocol or hardware platform.   It provides information exchange among and between different wirelesshandheld devices and office automation equipment.

IBM’sis a charter member of the Consortium. In addition to IBM, member companies include Canon, Consumer Electronics Assoc. (CEA),Continental Automated Buildings Assoc. (CABA), Fuji Xerox, InfraredData Assoc., Konica, Kyocera Mita, Matsushita, Murata, NationalInstitute of Standards & Technology (NIST), Oki Data, Ricoh, and Seiko Epson.

Academicmembers include Dr. Tamel Bose – University of Colorado at Denver, AssociateProfessor of Electrical Engineering, Dr. Roger Debry – Utah Valley StateCollege, Computer Science Department, Marcus Giese – Montana State University,Kaspar Helldén – Linköping University, Sweden, Professor Alan Leong -University of Washington, Professor Wenching Liou   - National Chengchi University, Taiwan, Associate Professor of MIS, Dr.Steven Reiss – Brown University, Associate Chairman of Computer Science, Dr.Golden G. Richard III – University of New Orleans, Professor of ComputerScience, Daniel Stevenson – MIT, Media Lab Research Assistant, Sudakshina SharmaSarkar – Indian Institute of Technoloy, Delhi, India, Dr. Tomohiro Takagi -Meiji University, Department of Computer Science, Heath Westover – University ofWashington, and Young Bok Yoon – Pusan National University, South Korea.

Next post: